Cú Chulainns, London Intermediate Hurling Champions 2014

by Cu Chulainns on September 15, 2014

Final Score: Cú Chulainns 0-16 1-08 Thomas McCurtain’s

Cú Chulainns have won the London Intermediate Hurling Championship for 2014 and are promoted to the Senior Hurling Championship for 2015.

We had to do it the hard way with a replay against Thomas McCurtain’s having drawn the final the first time of asking after a great comeback. A great performance from the whole team from start to finish. We weathered the storm in the first half when McCurtain’s took a 2 point lead but as the half went on we gradually got on top of it with points from Peter Phelan, Damien Moloney, Mick Murphy and a rabble rouser from Conor O’ Keefee from way out. We went in at half time 0-07 0-05 ahead.

In the second half with the wind slightly in our favour we managed to kick on and never looked like losing our grip on the game with further points from Captain Phelan himself and more scores from Mick Murphy and Eamonn Kelly. Thomas McCurtain’s kept fighting till the end with a late injury time goal to narrow the gap to 5 points, but then the final whistle blew and victory was ours.

Cú Chulainns, 2014 London Intermediate Hurling Champions.

Team: Brendan Quinn, Brian O’ Leary, Joe Cashman, John Brady, Conor O’ Keefee, Tom Brennan, Eoin Scully, Aidan Power, Peter Murphy, Peter Phelan, Damien Delaney, Damien Moloney, John Murray, Mick Murphy, Padraig Biggane
Subs: Eamonn Kelly, Kevin Keating, Mick O’ Malley, Eoin Regan, Mark Devlin, Sean Reilly, Sean Moloney, Clarke Henderson, Ben Reynolds, Luke Cleary, Reamonn Molloy, John Diviney.
Management Team: Sean Reilly – Manager, Micky Biggane & Mick Rogers – All rounders:), Mary Madden – Physio, Michaela Biggane – Photographer, Eileen Biggane – Chef extraordinaire!

Scorers: Peter Phelan (0-10, 7f), Mick Murphy (0-02), Damien Moloney (0-02), Conor O’ Keefee (0-01), Eamonn Kelly (0-01)

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: