Treble for Cú Chulainns Hurlers

by Cu Chulainns on October 27, 2014

Cú Chulainns have completed a treble this year by winning the Intermediate Championship, the Division 2 League title, and the Ronan Cup – and are also into the semi final of both the All-Britain Provincial championship and the McCullough Cup – the clean sweep is still on!

Last week Cú Chulainns got our second trophy of the year by winning the Ronan Cup, beating Thomas McCurtain’s by 2-12 to 1-12. We were 6 or 7 points down for most of that match but hung in there and came back in the last 10 minutes to secure victory and our second Ronan Cup in a row. The second goal by Sean Owens put us into the lead in the last few minutes and we went on to secure victory from there.

This weekend we comprehensively won the Division 2 League title beating Fulham Irish on a scoreline of 2-24 to 2-3. The two goals coming from Mick Murphy and Aidan Power. We were in control for the whole game and despite a couple of goals from Fulham Irish in the first half we went in at half time with a 5 point lead. The second half was even more comprehensive with Fulham failing to score and we amassed many well worked points throughout the game, points coming from Peter Phelan, Mick Murphy, Pod Biggane, John Murray, Damien Moloney, Aidan Power, John Diviney and Tom Brennan.

Big well done to the whole squad and all associated with the club, and especially to all our people on the line, including Micky Biggane, Mick Rogers, Mary Madden, Michaela Biggane and manager Sean Reilly, and everyone else who has helped out during the year. Cú Chulainn Abú!

Ronan Cup Final Team: Sean Reilly, Mark Devlin, Joe Cashman, John Brady, Conor O’ Keefee, Tom Brennan, John Diviney, Aidan Power, Peter Murphy, Peter Phelan, Damien Delaney, Damien Moloney, John Murray, Mick Murphy, Eoin Regan. Subs: Padraig Biggane, Sean Owens, Kevin Keating, Mick O’ Malley, Clarke Henderson, Raemonn Molloy, Ben Reynolds.

League Final Team: Sean Reilly, Kevin Keating, Mark Devlin, John Brady, Conor O’ Keefee, Tom Brennan, John Diviney, Aidan Power, Peter Phelan, Padraig Biggane, Mick Murphy, Damien Moloney, John Murray, Damien Delaney, Eoin Regan. Subs: Mick O’ Malley, Clarke Henderson, Ben Reynolds.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: