Clean Sweep for Cú Chulainns

by Cu Chulainns on November 29, 2014

Cú Chulainns completed the clean sweep of London Intermediate Hurling titles for 2014 today by winning the McCullough Cup, to go with the Championship, League, and Ronan Cup victories already in the bag. Today we beat Kilburn Gaels B by 1-10 to 1-02.

Scorers Today: Mick Murphy 1-03, Damien Moloney 0-03, Eamonn Kelly 0-02, Peter Phelan 0-02.
Man of the Match: Ben Reynolds, who thanked his great*7 grandmother for the inspiration!

Well done to all concerned for a great 2014 and your great commitment – bring on Senior Hurling!

Special thanks as always to everyone who helped out throughout the year – Sean Reilly, Mick Rogers, Micky Biggane, Mary Madden, Michaela Biggane.

{ Comments on this entry are closed }

Treble for Cú Chulainns Hurlers

by Cu Chulainns on October 27, 2014

Cú Chulainns have completed a treble this year by winning the Intermediate Championship, the Division 2 League title, and the Ronan Cup – and are also into the semi final of both the All-Britain Provincial championship and the McCullough Cup – the clean sweep is still on!

Last week Cú Chulainns got our second trophy of the year by winning the Ronan Cup, beating Thomas McCurtain’s by 2-12 to 1-12. We were 6 or 7 points down for most of that match but hung in there and came back in the last 10 minutes to secure victory and our second Ronan Cup in a row. The second goal by Sean Owens put us into the lead in the last few minutes and we went on to secure victory from there.

This weekend we comprehensively won the Division 2 League title beating Fulham Irish on a scoreline of 2-24 to 2-3. The two goals coming from Mick Murphy and Aidan Power. We were in control for the whole game and despite a couple of goals from Fulham Irish in the first half we went in at half time with a 5 point lead. The second half was even more comprehensive with Fulham failing to score and we amassed many well worked points throughout the game, points coming from Peter Phelan, Mick Murphy, Pod Biggane, John Murray, Damien Moloney, Aidan Power, John Diviney and Tom Brennan.

Big well done to the whole squad and all associated with the club, and especially to all our people on the line, including Micky Biggane, Mick Rogers, Mary Madden, Michaela Biggane and manager Sean Reilly, and everyone else who has helped out during the year. Cú Chulainn Abú!

Ronan Cup Final Team: Sean Reilly, Mark Devlin, Joe Cashman, John Brady, Conor O’ Keefee, Tom Brennan, John Diviney, Aidan Power, Peter Murphy, Peter Phelan, Damien Delaney, Damien Moloney, John Murray, Mick Murphy, Eoin Regan. Subs: Padraig Biggane, Sean Owens, Kevin Keating, Mick O’ Malley, Clarke Henderson, Raemonn Molloy, Ben Reynolds.

League Final Team: Sean Reilly, Kevin Keating, Mark Devlin, John Brady, Conor O’ Keefee, Tom Brennan, John Diviney, Aidan Power, Peter Phelan, Padraig Biggane, Mick Murphy, Damien Moloney, John Murray, Damien Delaney, Eoin Regan. Subs: Mick O’ Malley, Clarke Henderson, Ben Reynolds.

{ Comments on this entry are closed }

Cú Chulainns, London Intermediate Hurling Champions 2014

by Cu Chulainns on September 15, 2014

Final Score: Cú Chulainns 0-16 1-08 Thomas McCurtain’s

Cú Chulainns have won the London Intermediate Hurling Championship for 2014 and are promoted to the Senior Hurling Championship for 2015.

We had to do it the hard way with a replay against Thomas McCurtain’s having drawn the final the first time of asking after a great comeback. A great performance from the whole team from start to finish. We weathered the storm in the first half when McCurtain’s took a 2 point lead but as the half went on we gradually got on top of it with points from Peter Phelan, Damien Moloney, Mick Murphy and a rabble rouser from Conor O’ Keefee from way out. We went in at half time 0-07 0-05 ahead.

In the second half with the wind slightly in our favour we managed to kick on and never looked like losing our grip on the game with further points from Captain Phelan himself and more scores from Mick Murphy and Eamonn Kelly. Thomas McCurtain’s kept fighting till the end with a late injury time goal to narrow the gap to 5 points, but then the final whistle blew and victory was ours.

Cú Chulainns, 2014 London Intermediate Hurling Champions.

Team: Brendan Quinn, Brian O’ Leary, Joe Cashman, John Brady, Conor O’ Keefee, Tom Brennan, Eoin Scully, Aidan Power, Peter Murphy, Peter Phelan, Damien Delaney, Damien Moloney, John Murray, Mick Murphy, Padraig Biggane
Subs: Eamonn Kelly, Kevin Keating, Mick O’ Malley, Eoin Regan, Mark Devlin, Sean Reilly, Sean Moloney, Clarke Henderson, Ben Reynolds, Luke Cleary, Reamonn Molloy, John Diviney.
Management Team: Sean Reilly – Manager, Micky Biggane & Mick Rogers – All rounders:), Mary Madden – Physio, Michaela Biggane – Photographer, Eileen Biggane – Chef extraordinaire!

Scorers: Peter Phelan (0-10, 7f), Mick Murphy (0-02), Damien Moloney (0-02), Conor O’ Keefee (0-01), Eamonn Kelly (0-01)

{ Comments on this entry are closed }