Hurling League

Division 2 Hurling League – Saturday 30th May 2009

Cúchulainn Puirseil 2.11 Thomas McCurtains 0.06

The sun was splitting the rocks as this evening game got underway, after the Cuchulainns footballers had just lost badly shortly before. As ever the hurlers had that air of confidence that we always do before these affairs begin.

It wasn’t long, however, before we went a point behind. There was no one covering the “hole” as da fella says. However, we were soon to get into our stride with strikes from Jack Cott and Mick Gorman. If truth be told, we missed a fair few chances as the first half went on – but we were solid at the back with great showings from the likes of man-of-the-match, Martin Dawson, and cool-as-a-cucumber, Con showing the way.

We went in at half-time two points to the good on a scoreline of 0-05 to 0-03.

The second half was tough early on but another score was soon added to stretch the lead to three points. Then after another Cuchulainns attack a 65 was awarded – it was struck over the bar by Jack Cott to stretch the lead further, and although it was struck from 75 yards out, no bonus point was awarded.

Controversy was to enter the game soon after when Dave Meade collected the ball on the sideline and then struck the ball speculatively forward with the flight deceiving the keeper and straight into the net – but was Dave over the line or not was the cry from the opposition – reminiscent of Offaly cries in the 1982 Leinster Hurling final against Kilkenny, when the silver-haired Matt Ruth pulled the ball back from the endline and across the goal for Liam Fennelly to sink the faithful county.

As it did in ’82, the goal stood and Cuchulainns were now in complete command. There were some great performances from the likes of newcomer Vincent Cott, full-forward Mick Gorman (although he’ll want to forget that point-blank miss towards the end), and stalwarts Dave Meade, John Byrne, and Martin Dawson.

In the end another goal was added to the tally and the Cuchulainns finished the victors on a scoreline of Dá Cúl is Aon-Déag Cúilín chuig Sé Cúilín don foireann McCurtains.

Team: Micky Biggane, Gerry Commane, Martin Dawson, Dave Meade, AN Other, Con X, John Murray, Vincent Cott, Mike Dennehy, Padraig Harrington, John Byrne, Jack Cott, Mick Gorman, Pauric Biggane. Subs: Eddie Naughton

Man of the Match: Martin Dawson, solid at full back!

{ Comments on this entry are closed }